New arrivals
Loading...
Live Help
NFB/ONF Campus Collection of Films
The Acadia Library has recently subscribed to the full collection of films from the National Film Board. Check out films related to food and food industry or explore the whole collection. Faculty and students are welcome to setup their own personal accounts to create playlists.
Changes to the Libguide
Recent changes on the guide include:
- A video on how to import references from PubMed to Refworks
- New APA citation guides
- Images to illustrate the elements of a book and journal article citations
- A new updated Refworks libguide direct from Refworks!
- PEN has it's own tab now
- Links to the archival libguides for Nutrition 4533 and Nutrition 3542
- List of most popular and useful resources from the library for Nutrition students (box below)
Tips regarding APA Referencing
#1 Tip: remember the hanging indent, though some examples you will see don't have it, it is part of the style and you should format your bibliography this way. If you have trouble figuring using tabs with cut and paste materials, try changing your margins with the ruler in Word.
#2 Tip: listen to your professor! Professors will give exceptions or specific examples of how they want things to look that may not follow the exact APA Style. For example some professors are ok with using numbers (instead of in cite citations) or putting figure information on separate pages, so it is important to get specific clarification from your professor on what is acceptable for the particular project.
#3 Tip: if you are unsure about your citation ask your librarian for advice.
#4 Tip: remember all title words should be lower case, except the first word in the title, the first word after a colon, or proper nouns.
#5 Tip: if there is no date, put (n.d.)., except for archival materials put [ca. 1972].
#6 Tip: unless otherwise indicated images and photographs should be referenced as figures. However for class work, there is no need to include the reprinted with permission statement. It is important to get copyright permission for documents you will publish including theses.
Most popular resources
- PubMed
PubMed is an enhanced version of MEDLINE which covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. MEDLINE covers more than 4,000 biomedical journals and coverage extends from 1966 - Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary database providing fulltext for more than 4,500 journals, at least 3,700 of which are peer-reviewed. Fulltext back files to 1975 and earlier are available for more than one hundred journals, & searchable cited references are provided. - CBCA Complete: Health and Medicine
This database focuses on health and medical periodicals covering Canada and Canadian issues. Subject coverage: medical science, nursing, allied health, public health, pharmacology. - JSTOR
Search full text backfiles of 525+ major scholarly journals from the very first issue. Current years of the journals may now be available in this collection. Please note what you select as defaults while searching. - ScienceDirect
An index to over 1600 full text Elsevier Science journals-primarily scientific, technical and medical. Full text coverage is consistently available from 1998 to the present but some journals have full text back to 1994.
Check out Acadia's School of Nutrition and Dietetics
Your Librarian |
I am currently not available. Please email me and I'll get back to you as soon as possible. Links: Profile & Guides |
Hours
Upcoming office hours::
Monday June 17: 10am-12pm, 2-4pm
Tuesday June 18: 10am-12pm, 2-4pm
Tuesday June 25: 10am-12pm, 2-4pm
Or by Appointment, please email me.



Loading...
