Live Help
New arrivals
Loading...
Key Resources
This is a quick list of key resources. For a complete list, please explore the tabs at the top of this guide.
- ERIC
Index to education literature (both journals and documents) from 1966-present. - PsycINFO
The American Psychological Association's index to psychology journals (1887-present). - Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,500 journals, at least 3,700 of which are peer-reviewed. - CBCA Complete: Social Sciences
Although this index is not nearly as large as ERIC, it indexes many Canadian journals and newsletters not covered anywhere else. This index is essential if your research has a Canadian focus. - JSTOR
This scholarly collection includes full text backfiles of psychology journals (and a variety of other subjects) from the very first issue. - Google ScholarThis search engine provides coverage of articles in a variety of disciplines (strongest in the sciences) and from various publishers and educational sites.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
MMY is a comprehensive guide to over 2,700 contemporary testing instruments within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. - Acadia's Journals: Education
A select list of journals available at Acadia that have been tagged as Education related journals. - Acadia's E-Book Collections
Various E-Book Collections available through the Acadia Library. - Getting Started With RefWorksRefWorks is a web–based bibliographic reference manager. It allows users to create personal databases of references and use them for a variety of research activities.
- Getting Started With ZoteroZotero is a free, open-source citation manager that allows you to store, manage, and cite bibliographic information.
Getting Started
Library Checklist for Undergraduate & Graduate Students
Meet your librarian
At Acadia each academic department has a liaison librarian to assist students and faculty. Librarians are assigned departments based on their educational background, experience and interest. We encourage you to find your librarian via email, chat or in person to find out about the library services and resources available to you. Find yours at: http://library.acadiau.ca/about/librarians.html. As well, Acadia has partnered with Novanet to provide extended chat reference services through LiveHelp: http://library.acadiau.ca/help/.
Set up your Network Account
In order to access the library resources available electronically, you must have your network access setup and you need to be on the secure wireless signal (acadia, not Acadia Open). The most common problems are surrounding usernames and passwords. You can check to make sure your account has been set-up properly by going to: https://central.acadiau.ca/accounts/. Follow the steps until you have all green check marks. If you still cannot log on your next step would be to contact Technical Support for further assistance: http://ts.acadiau.ca/index.php Network Access and Wireless
Access resources off campus

Click this button if you want to access licensed resources when you are off-campus.
Register for Interlibrary Loan/Doc Delivery
If we don't have the book or article you need, we can get it for you! InterLibrary Loan is an essential service provided for Acadia students, faculty and staff. If there are books or journal articles you would like to use Acadia will request the items from libraries that are willing to lend the material. Articles will be delivered directly to you via email with a onetime download link. Go to http://library.acadiau.ca/services/ILL/ to register now.
Setup your printer
There are printers available on campus, one in the library and two in Technology Services (colour and black and white). Installing the printer can take a few minutes, so be sure to install the library printer on your laptop early in the term. Please note that students using home editions of Windows may have issues with retaining saved passwords and may have to reinstall. Instructions vary depending on the type of computer you are using: http://ts.acadiau.ca/how-do-i-set-up-network-printers.html/
Start using a bibliographic manager
RefWorks and Zotero are tools available to you to help you organize your references and cite them in the proper format. Spending a little time setting this software up can save you hours later in the year. RefWorks is freely available for all Acadia students, faculty and staff. Please visit our guides to get your started or make an appointment with your librarian. Refworks: http://libguides.acadiau.ca/refworks and Zotero: http://libguides.acadiau.ca/zotero.
Libguides and the best resources for you
Each librarian has created specialized guides called Libguides for each academic department that group the most relevant resources for each subject area to make it easier for students to find the best resources for assignments and papers. Our libguides are located on the main library page and are also available at: http://libguides.acadiau.ca.
WorldCat Local: allows you to search Acadia’s library materials, along with journal articles, books, DVDs, etc. from libraries all over the world. It is very powerful, and it is not meant to replace our subject databases but to act a complementary tool. We have several online videos to help explain how to search within our new catalogue: http://library.acadiau.ca/help/tutorials.html
Don’t be afraid to use Google Scholar. You can find excellent scholarly material using this resource. If you are on campus or logged in through our off-camous access button, you can modify your “scholar preferences” to include the Get @ Acadia and Import to Refworks buttons!
Borrow anywhere in Canada, return anywhere in NS
Nova Scotia has a borrow and return anywhere program, residents of Nova Scotia can borrow material at most academic and public libraries in Nova Scotia and return to a different library. http://tiny.cc/kjed7. As well, an ASIN (Atlantic Scholarly Information Network) card will give you on-site privileges at almost all University libraries in Canada. You must pick up your ASIN from the Acadia library.
Things of Interest
- PRIMARY SOURCES: AMERICA'S TEACHERS ON AMERICA'S SCHOOLS40,000 of public school teachers from the United States gave their thoughts on American Education .
- WolframAlphaIt is a search engine combined with sophisticated computational software (Mathematica, for those of you who are familiar with it), that allows users to compute answers to a wide variety of questions.
- Sweet SearchAfraid of your students using unreliable websites? Every Web site in SweetSearch has been evaluated by research experts.
- Search CredibleSearch Credible allows you to access 26 different search engines from one location. The list of search engines are Wolfram Alpha, EBSCO, Google, Bing, and Yahoo. On the down side you can only search on engine at a time. Type your search in the search window and select the search engine you wish to use.
- The economic impact of international students enrolled in Nova Scotia universities :an expenditure analysisThe School of Public Administration, Dalhousie University, carried out a study to analyze the economic impact of international university students in Nova Scotia.
- The Amazing Web 2.0 Projects BookWeb 2.0--Study and teaching--Activity programs.
- TV Onartio ArchiveTVO is Ontario's public educational media organization and a trusted source of interactive educational content that informs, inspires, and stimulates curiosity and thought.
Your Librarian |
Chat requires JavaScript. Contact Info Academic Librarian Room 423 -- 2nd Floor Vaughan Memorial Library Acadia University Wolfville, NS B4P 2R6 Phone: 902-585-1734 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Office Hours
The Writing Centre
The Acadia Writing Centre offers a range of services to improve your writing skills, including one-on-one tutorials.
Peer-tutors can help you write better papers.
Better Papers = Better Grades!
Book an appointment or just drop in!





Loading...
