1. Style & Citation Guides2. Refworks3. Zotero4. The Writing Centre
This is the "Home" page of the "Music Subject Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Music Subject Guide   Tags: acadia, library, music  

.
Last Updated: Jan 30, 2013 URL: http://libguides.acadiau.ca/music Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Live Help

Untitled Document
Chat requires JavaScript.
 

Off-Campus Access

off-campus access
Click this button if you want to access licensed resources when you are off-campus.

 

new books and CDs and things!

The following titles have just been added to our collection:

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

suggestion box

Found a great book, CD or score you think would be perfect for our collection? Just click on Comments to make a suggestion.

Key Resources

This is a quick list of key resources. For a complete list, please explore the tabs at the top of this guide.

  • RILM  Icon
    Acadia's major index for music literature. Indexes articles about music as well as books, conference proceedings, bibliographies, catalogues, theses, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings and videos, reviews, etc. 1969-present. RILM covers 755 core and primary music journals, including all of the journals available in Project Muse and all but four of the journals available in JSTOR.
  • Canadian Music Periodical Index  Icon
    Index to articles about all aspects of musical activity in Canada from 475 Canadian music journals, newsletters and magazines. Subject coverage spans the late nineteenth century to the present day.
  • Academic Search Premier  Icon  Icon
    This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,500 journals, at least 3,700 of which are peer-reviewed.
  • CAIRSS
    Small database that indexes 27 journals in the fields of music education, music therapy, music and psychology, and music and medicine.
  • Project Muse
    Full text of the most recent several years of 12 music journals. Older issues of all 12 are available through JSTOR. Project Muse also includes some 300 journals from other disciplines; make sure to limit your search by Music.
  • JSTOR  Icon
    This scholarly collection includes full text backfiles of psychology journals (and a variety of other subjects) from the very first issue.
  • Google Scholar
    This search engine provides coverage of articles in a variety of disciplines (strongest in the sciences) and from various publishers and educational sites.
  • Oxford Music Online  Icon
    Oxford Music Online is the access point for Grove Music Online and other Oxford music reference resources.
  • Classical Scores Library  Icon
    PDFs of more than 3,000 works from the Renaissance to the present.
  • Acadia's Journals: Music  Icon
    A select list of journals available at Acadia that have been tagged as Music related journals.
  • Acadia's E-Book Collections  Icon
    Various E-Book Collections available through the Acadia Library.
  • Acadia's Streaming Audio Collections  Icon
    Streaming Audio collections available through Acadia Library.
  • Opera in Video  Icon
    Streaming video of some 250 opera performances, plus interviews and documentaries.
  • Getting Started With RefWorks
    RefWorks is a web–based bibliographic reference manager. It allows users to create personal databases of references and use them for a variety of research activities.
  • Getting Started With Zotero
    Zotero is a free, open-source citation manager that allows you to store, manage, and cite bibliographic information.
 

Getting Started

Library Checklist for  Undergraduate & Graduate Students

Meet your librarian

At Acadia each academic department has a liaison librarian to assist students and faculty.  Librarians are assigned departments based on their educational background, experience and interest.  We encourage you to find your librarian via email, chat or in person to find out about the library services and resources available to you.  Find yours at: http://library.acadiau.ca/about/librarians.html.  As well, Acadia has partnered with Novanet to provide extended chat reference services through LiveHelp:  http://library.acadiau.ca/help/.

Set up your Network Account

In order to access the library resources available electronically, you must have your network access setup and you need to be on the secure wireless signal (acadia, not Acadia Open).  The most common problems are surrounding usernames and passwords.  You can check to make sure your account has been set-up properly by going to: https://central.acadiau.ca/accounts/.  Follow the steps until you have all green check marks.  If you still cannot log on your next step would be to contact Technical Support for further assistance: http://ts.acadiau.ca/index.php Network Access and Wireless 

Access resources off campus

off-campus access
Click this button if you want to access licensed resources when you are off-campus.

Register for Interlibrary Loan/Doc Delivery

If we don't have the book or article you need, we can get it for you! InterLibrary Loan is an essential service provided for Acadia students, faculty and staff.  If there are books or journal articles you would like to use Acadia will request the items from libraries that are willing to lend the material.  Articles will be delivered directly to you via email with a onetime download link. Go to http://library.acadiau.ca/services/ILL/ to register now.

Setup your printer

There are printers available on campus, one in the library and two in Technology Services (colour and black and white).   Installing the printer can take a few minutes, so be sure to install the library printer on your laptop early in the term. Please note that students using home editions of Windows may have issues with retaining saved passwords and may have to reinstall.  Instructions vary depending on the type of computer you are using: http://ts.acadiau.ca/how-do-i-set-up-network-printers.html/

Start using a bibliographic manager

RefWorks and Zotero are tools available to you to help you organize your references and cite them in the proper format.  Spending a little time setting this software up can save you hours later in the year. RefWorks is freely available for all Acadia students, faculty and staff.  Please visit our guides to get your started or make an appointment with your librarian.  Refworks: http://libguides.acadiau.ca/refworks and Zotero: http://libguides.acadiau.ca/zotero.

Libguides and the best resources for you

Each librarian has created specialized guides called Libguides for each academic department that group the most relevant resources for each subject area to make it easier for students to find the best resources for assignments and papers.  Our libguides are located on the main library page and are also available at: http://libguides.acadiau.ca.

WorldCat Local:  allows you to search Acadia’s library materials, along with journal articles, books, DVDs, etc. from libraries all over the world.  It is very powerful, and it is not meant to replace our subject databases but to act a complementary tool.  We have several online videos to help explain how to search within our new catalogue: http://library.acadiau.ca/help/tutorials.html

Don’t be afraid to use Google Scholar. You can find excellent scholarly material using this resource.  If you are on campus or logged in through our off-camous access button, you can modify your “scholar preferences” to include the Get @ Acadia and Import to Refworks buttons! 

Borrow anywhere in Canada, return anywhere in NS

Nova Scotia has a borrow and return anywhere program, residents of Nova Scotia can borrow material at most academic and public libraries in Nova Scotia and return to a different library.  http://tiny.cc/kjed7.  As well, an ASIN (Atlantic Scholarly Information Network) card will give you on-site privileges at almost all University libraries in Canada.  You must pick up your ASIN from the Acadia library.

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Anthony Pash
Untitled Document
Chat requires JavaScript.
Logo - SkypeLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Academic Librarian
Room 423 -- 2nd Floor
Vaughan Memorial Library
Acadia University
Wolfville, NS B4P 2R6

Phone: 902-585-1734
Send Email
 

Office Hours

OFFICE HOURS

On Vacation Until June 17th

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip